In an effort to raise funds and awareness about local issues affecting our oceans, waves and beaches, the Surfrider Foundation San Diego County Chapter will be hosting the 12th Annual Art Gala at the Powerhouse Community Center in Del Mar on Thursday, May 17th 2012 from 6-10pm.

The evening will include a silent and live auction of fine ocean-themed artwork, surf gear, spa packages and other luxury items.  There will also be a live art installation by Nathan Gibbs, Tidal Wave of Plastic photo booth, awards, music, beverages and food from Jimbo’s…Naturally as prepared by Yapo’s Home Catering.

Last year, the event attracted 150 attendees ranging from surfers to environmental activists to art enthusiasts.  The event raised over $17,000 for local chapter efforts to help protect our oceans, waves and beaches here in San Diego.

This year’s artists include Ana Phelps, Andy Davis, Andrew Kosum, Angela Van Lier, Amber Irwin, Ash Francomb, Brian Helfand, Brain Siebert, Carolyn Guild, Cherrie LaPorte, Chris Martino, Cynthia Elisa Santos, Elisabeth Sullivan, Elise Nicole, Grant Pecoff, Hanna Daily, Heather Ritts, Jason Samarin, Jay Alders, Jeff Yeomans, Jennifer Belote, John Corning, Julie Goldstein, Maggie Marsek, Marty Frank, Matthew Meier, Matuse Larson, Meegan Feori, Nathan Gibbs, Neal Boceik, Pearl Pries, Robb Havassy, Sean Davey, Sean Ruttkay, Seth Thompson, Stephanie Bell, Stephen Forrester, Steven Valiere, Skye Walker, Tom Keck, Wade Koniakowsky, Wyland and more!

To make a donation, or if you have any questions, please contact our office at (858) 792-9940 or email us at

Be sure to check out the Art Gala blog and Facebook event page for more information.

To purchase tickets to the Art Gala click here!